Teacher Leadership

The Perry Teacher Leadership webpage can be accessed here. 

Perry CSD is proud to announce the following teachers will be serving in leadership positions during the 2016-17 school year:

  • Shannon Cline will serve as the Teacher Leadership & Mentor Coordinator
  • Instructional Coaches include
    • Jennifer Nicholson
    • Nathan Horgen
    • Laura Coller
    • Brenda Mintun
    • Wendy Bollhoefer

Other leadership positions include teachers serving as mentors, leaders of professional learning communities, and as model teachers.

Perry Community School District joins the State’s Teacher Leadership System

Perry CSD’s application for creating a teacher leadership system was approved by the Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation on December 10, 2015. Perry joins 97 other districts across Iowa that will begin participating in the teacher leadership program during the 2016-17 school year. At that time, 100% of districts in Iowa will be participating in the teacher leadership system.

The Teacher Leadership and Compensation System is designed to reward effective teachers with leadership opportunities and higher pay, attract promising new teachers with competitive starting salaries and more support, and foster greater collaboration among all teachers to learn from each other thus improving student learning.

Congratulations and many thanks go to the team that crafted this plan:

  • Teachers Kristi Amstutz, Janna Bjork, Eddie Diaz, Matt Hardy, Kim Herrera, Genna Kinley, Nathan Krohn, Ned Menke,

  • Administrators Shaun Kruger, Dan Marburger, Trevor Miller, Kevin Vidergar, Lynn Ubben, and

  • Tinna Walberg from Heartland AEA.

Perry’s plan will provide leadership opportunities in several areas, including a teacher leadership and mentor coordinator, instructional coaches, mentors for teachers in their first or second year or who are veteran teachers and new to the district, professional learning community leaders, and model teachers. Each of these positions will be filled by Perry teachers who have at least three years of experience and have taught in the district for at least one full school year.

Additional information can be found on the Iowa Department of Education website for Teacher Leadership.